“I’m just not into that”

February 4, 2009 § 5 Comments

So, today was my first day as a second semester senior, a day that notoriously marks the beginning of several months of partying, nostalgia and (my favorite) intellectual apathy. I am all for taking it easy after 3 and 1/2 years of stressing over GPAs and getting into college, but today I realized that perhaps my last semester of high school can be put to good use.

Silvia and I are both in US Women’s History. After class, we heard a classmate complaining about being stuck in that course, saying, “It’s going to be so much feminism, I’m just not into that.”

My response: Luckily, US History of Women is IN NO WAY a class on feminism.

Silvia’s response: Oh, so you aren’t into equal rights for women?

Embarrassed, she then mumbled something about not wanting to do all the reading for the class.

It frightens me that smart women are scared to even learn about other women because they are afraid of being labeled as (GOD FORBID) feminists.┬áSo even though I’d love to turn off my brain until the fall, I feel compelled to defend the class, US Women’s History, AND the label, Feminism. It will undoubtedly be more fun than calculus and college applications!

§ 5 Responses to “I’m just not into that”

  • Silvia says:

    I want to know what she is into.

  • Phoebe says:

    It’s comments like the one your classmate made that infuriate me to no end. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve heard people say, “I mean I’m all for women’s rights and everything, I’m just not a feminist.” The word feminist has so many negative connotations now that proclaiming yourself one is perceived as some sort of social suicide.

    I believe that if you are in favor of equal rights for women (as Silvia said), you ARE a feminist, no matter what you decide to call yourself.

  • mirandanyc says:

    Definitely. The saddest thing to me is that people don’t realize that calling yourself a feminist is FUCKING BADASS. I think that’s an action, in it of itself. Just saying, “I’m a feminist,” just getting past all the negative connotations, is a great step forward for the equality movement.

  • Samuel says:

    The stigma of being labeled feminist stems from the fact that there are so many feminisms. It’s hard to categorize oneself with such a fluid definition; especially when many forms of feminism are critical of other forms of feminism. That’s why I think it’s simpler to explain to those resistant to feminism that feminism is a methodology of analysis, “looking at history or cultural artifacts from the perspective of the minority or marginalized.”

  • Vera says:

    A classmate of mine said today “I am anti-feminist.” A woman. A smart, articulate woman said “I am anti-feminist”. I just couldn’t get over that. I am fairly certain she misunderstood the term to mean “anti-men,” a common misconception. However it was such an explicit insult to feminism that I was deeply shocked and ultimately saddened.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “I’m just not into that” at Women's Glib.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

