Favorite Responses…

March 7, 2009 § 1 Comment

I get to telling people I write for a feminist blog. It’s been a little over a month since I first started writing for Women’s Glib and since then, I’ve posted the link to it on my facebook and told many of my friends about it. Here are a few of the winning responses I’ve gotten:

  • “A feminist blog?… Whew.”
  • “No way is that going to help you get a boyfriend.” (Yes, this is the same person.)
  • Raucous laughter
  • Awkward silence
  • “Oh… that’s… great.”
  • “Loser.”
  • “Women are allowed to write for blogs?”

So, by winning, I actually meant saddening. It’s upsetting to hear some of my friends respond in such a negative way. It’s like they hear the word “feminist” in any context and alarms go off in their heads. To be fair, some of the responses listed above were just said to get a rise out of me. Mostly, I just smile at these responses, since… they are kind of humorously uninformed. This isn’t to say I haven’t received positive responses – I’ve actually gotten much more positive feedback, but posting those would just be obnoxious.

Anyway, I just wanted to thank the fellow Women’s Glib writers for including me in such an amazing experience. And the people who find what we have to say worthwile. And thanks to the sexist assholes in my life for providing me with so much good material.

§ One Response to Favorite Responses…

  • mirandanyc says:

    Anyway, I just wanted to thank the fellow Women’s Glib writers for including me in such an amazing experience. And the people who find what we have to say worthwile. And thanks to the sexist assholes in my life for providing me with so much good material.

    Word, my lady.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Favorite Responses… at Women's Glib.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

