Kenan Thompson on the Chris Brown “scandal”

February 25, 2009 § 4 Comments

I’m no stranger to celebrity crushes disappointing me now and then. Kenan Thompson of Saturday Night Live has held a special place in my heart ever since that Weekend Update segment where his input on the financial crisis was to “FIX IT!!!” But that love has definitely been relocated now that I’ve read this horrendous bit of misogyny. Here’s his thoughtful two cents about inviting Chris Brown to perform on the show, in light of recent events.

It’s not up to me, but I’m sure we would if he had another hit single. We don’t care about scandal. We just care about what brings us ratings! [It’s] an unfortunate situation…I don’t know the whole story, but I know how women can get when you get a text message from another female, so I’m just saying, you have to learn that you can’t put your hands on a female.

Oh, I get it. So it’s okay to violently attack a woman if she gets irrationally angry?

Go read Kate’s spot-on response to this bullshit. A taste:

I don’t even have words. “You know, I understand how tempting it is to beat a woman when she’s acting all nutty because she found, you know, evidence that you cheated on her or something — but you just don’t do that, dude! LOL!”

Not to mention the “I don’t know the whole story” part. YOU GENERALLY DON’T NEED TO KNOW THE WHOLE STORY IF YOU KNOW THE END OF THE STORY IS THAT A MAN BEAT A WOMAN.

Amen.

§ 4 Responses to Kenan Thompson on the Chris Brown “scandal”

  • Phoebe says:

    That’s awful! I’m overall really disgusted with the way the media has been treating the Chris Brown-Rihanna “scandal”. Just the fact that it’s being called a “scandal” and not a CRIME is indication enough of the way it’s being presented.

    First there was TMZ posting the police photo of Rihanna after the attack, and now this! I think it’s becoming glamorized in a way, and if I hear ONE more person say, “Free Chris Brown!” I am going to explode.

  • bigassalice says:

    There have been so many upsetting reactions to this situation from celebrities. Lil’ Bow-Wow’s response that “the picture says it all” was particularly upsetting to me. Because it took the horrendous release of the picture in order for him to believe that what happened was wrong. What the fuck? And people wonder why feminism matters…

  • gingerlady says:

    “you have to learn that you can’t put your hands on a female”

    because, you know, people might get all mad and stuff, and that might cramp your style.

    what the hell, kenan. you used to be my goodburger.

  • […] Previously in Celebrity Disappointment: Amy Sedaris; Kenan Thompson. […]

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kenan Thompson on the Chris Brown “scandal” at Women's Glib.

meta